Open Call 2013 : Peter Seal

Efterklang - Peter Seal, oil on canvas, 232mm  x 146mm x 33mm.

Efterklang – Peter Seal, oil on canvas, 232mm x 146mm x 33mm.

STATEMENT

“As with music, paintings, even apparently simple ones, often take time to get to know. This is not to say that first impressions are not important (they are) but there’s got to be more to it than just first impressions.

“My idea of a good one is of one which is durable- where familiarity breeds further appreciation. So that’s what I’m chasing after when I paint – and I really enjoy the mad pursuit!”

______

 

BIOGRAPHY

I was born in, and grew up in, Scotland and I studied drawing and painting at Duncan of Jordanstone College of Art in Dundee. I came to Manchester in 1981 to do an M.A.in painting at M.M.U. and I have lived and painted here ever since.

From 1982 to ’93 I taught drawing and painting part-time at M.M.U. and at Blackpool and the Fylde College. I was one of the founders of Manchester Artists Studio Association and was in the group who set up and ran the Castlefield Gallery in its earlier incarnation on Liverpool Road.

I have lived in Levenshulme since 1990. I’m married to Sheila – a musician and teacher and we have a son and a daughter. When I’m not painting I work from my garden shed as a self-employed illustrator and designer.

www.peterseal.net

 

Leave a Reply

